Choosing the Best UPLC System for Your Application Needs: Autosampler Designs in LCs

November 13, 2019 at 16:00 GMT / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST / 17:00 CET

You can register here.

A liquid chromatography system, including the injector or autosampler, may often be chosen based on availability, history or personal preference. While many methods are not significantly impacted by the autosampler, some workflows or applications benefit from either of the two different types of injectors: the flow-through-needle or the fixed loop design.

In this presentation, Dr. Paula Hong and Jennifer Simeone will review how each of these autosamplers aliquot and deliver the sample and discuss their similarities and differences. They will also cover design features — including the manner of needle washing and injection modes — strategies to transfer across autosamplers, as well as workflows that have specific requirements for the autosampler, such as a high-throughput application or one with problematic carryover.

This discussion will be followed by a live Q&A session and provide the attendee with a better understanding of the physical characteristics of autosamplers and best practices to ensure precise, accurate quantitation.

Key learning objectives

  • Learn the key differences between flow-through-needle and fixed loop autosamplers
  • Understand which workflows might benefit from each autosampler.

  • Learn how to select an LC system based on your application needs.

Who should attend?

  • Scientists who want to understand LC autosampler characteristics

  • Anyone who is selecting an LC system for a specific application.

  • Scientists who need to perform method transfer across different LC systems and may be having quantitation challenges.

Certificate of attendance

All webinar participants can request a certificate of attendance and a learning outcomes summary document for continuing education purposes..

gong Paula Hong, PhD Principal Consulting Scientist
Waters Corporation
simeone Jennifer Simeone
Principal Scientist
Waters Corporation
 tomas Sarah Thomas,
moderator
SelectScience